No ‘poo hair care part 5…I’m a cheater

I cheated.  *hangs head in shame*

But maybe you will want to cheat too, after reading this.

The dry shampoo definitely helped with the oily mess that my hair was quickly becoming.  I was having a hard time with the brownie smell though.  All I wanted to do was eat chocolate all day!!  Not good for this mama who is trying to lose the last bit of baby weight. 

And then, in a moment of weakness, I shampoo’d my hair. 

I know.  I KNOW.  At least I didn’t eat a pan of brownies, right?!?

I had just had enough of the oily hair.  It was getting weird- my scalp wasn’t oily.  In fact it seemed like my scalp had adjusted to the no ‘poo lifestyle very quickly.  It seemed like the back of my head and the length of my hair just hadn’t caught on yet.  The length of my hair was getting very heavy and stringy and felt gross, even with dry shampoo to help soak up some of the oil. So I thought- “what if I just shampoo out the extra oil from the length of my hair?”  My thought was, the oil from my scalp was traveling down my hair, and just needed a little help working itself out of my hair.  So…I used a tiny bit of shampoo on the length of my hair, completely avoiding my scalp.  Ahhhhh.  It felt so wrong…but oh so right.  Then I did absolutely nothing to my hair for the next two days- it lived in a pony tail.  I barely brushed it, and just rinsed with water.

I did a baking soda wash/apple cider vinegar wash on the third day (after shampoo’ing), and my hair felt better!!  Definitely less oil all over.  And I felt confident enough to wear it down, with no help from dry shampoo.

Here’s an above shot, no dry shampoo
For comparison, this is from my dry shampoo day.  A little drier looking, but my hair has more shine without the dry shampoo

From the front- oh look, another creepy photo of me! Fairly shiny, not greasy looking

I realize these photos aren’t great and they probably all look the same.  But…I am the most happy with my hair now, after shampoo’ing some of the extra oil out of my hair.  It feels more “normal” than it has.  Even though I technically cheated, I hopefully didn’t ruin my progress since I did not touch my scalp with the shampoo, so I didn’t strip the natural oils from my scalp.  We will see what happens by the end of the week. 

Two things I am noticing that are a little odd:

My hair has a ton of static electricity if I brush it too much.  I’m not sure why, since it still feels like there is some extra oil that should weigh it down.

After washing with baking soda/apple cider vinegar- I shed a lot.  I don’t think this is breakage from using these products.  I believe it’s a combination of postpartum hair loss (yep, still dealing with that) and the fact that I lose next to nothing on the days that I just wash with water.  But we will see as time goes on- I may need to back off on my baking soda mixture if I start losing chunks of hair.

I’m almost 2 1/2 weeks into this experiment, and it is going better than I expected!!  We will see how long I can keep this up.  Thanks for following along!

Leave a Reply

