No ‘poo hair care part one (aka how much of a dirty hippie can I become)

I like science experiments, so I decided to try another experiment on myself, similar to my last post.  This time though, I’m going to make it more of a real time experiment, so there’s a possibility that this may be a big fat failure.  But at least if you see me in person, you’ll know why I might look like a dirty hippie who hasn’t washed her hair in 2 weeks.

Let me back up a second.  I’ve been seeing a lot of information about No Poo.  What the heck is that, you ask?  Check out some of these links for more information.  To quickly sum things up- your shampoo strips your hair of its natural oils and contains all sorts of additives that aren’t really that great for you.  Conditioner was created to keep our hair from feeling dry and frizzy after stripping all the oil out- but again, lots of chemicals, plus it just weighs your hair down.  Our scalps produce a natural oil that acts as a natural cleanser and conditioner- so if we stop stripping out the oil then our body’s natural processes should actually do all the hair care work for us (now if I could only get my hair to brush itself).

Enter No Poo and two ingredients to keep your hair clean- baking soda and vinegar.  Baking soda is the cleanser and vinegar is the conditioner.  Just how much of both of those ingredients you use is up to your hair type and involves some experimenting.  I’ve read a lot of conflicting posts about whether to dilute the baking soda or make a paste and how much you should dilute your vinegar.  It seems like there is a lot of trial and error, so what works for me may not work for you- do your research before you start!!  This link has a lot of good troubleshooting information and tips/tricks.

First- a little about my hair.  I have very fine hair that tends toward being flat.  It does not hold much of a curl or style unless I try really hard.  I have always shampooed and conditioned it daily- for the past 31 years (well maybe not that long but close).  If I don’t, it turns into a bizarre flat oily tangly mess.  Living in a warm humid climate causes it to be frizzy (yet still flat).  Oh and then I have the ever so lovely postpartum hair loss to deal with as well, so I have all this new growth coming in that sticks straight up and out:

See?  Sorry for the creepy photo

I decided to start with a baking soda paste, mostly because I’m lazy and didn’t feel like measuring and mixing (bad scientist!).  The first day, I didn’t follow instructions very well (again, bad scientist!!) and put it all over my hair and let it sit for a couple of minutes.  It felt weird not having any lather.  I followed up with an apple cider vinegar rinse (Braggs, with the mother, because we had it on hand.  Again, being lazy).  I diluted my vinegar by adding 1/2 a cup of vinegar to 2 cups of water, and just applied it to the ends of my hair. 

I expected to get out of the shower and have a tangly mess, because that’s what normally happens when I get my hair wet.  However, my brush slid through my hair just like I had conditioned it like normal.  Whoa.  I shower at night, so I went to bed like I normally do- with wet hair, in a ponytail.

The next morning I did my hair like normal- I just flat iron out the ponytail creases/tame the bedhead look.  My hair looked surprisingly decent.  It felt different though- heavier.  Not as light as it would if I were using shampoo. 

I repeated this process for the next 3 days, although I only applied the paste to my roots instead of all over.  Here’s my hair on day 4

From the top- this is my natural hair color, I don’t highlight or add color.  Any highlights are from all the greys!!

From the front- hey there!

It looks surprisingly decent.  It still feels…weird.  Heavier.  Definitely greasy feeling.  But it doesn’t look greasy or weird (at least I don’t think so).  And the frizz factor has decreased a ton- normally my hair is super frizzy by the time I get to work.

I probably should have had my hair cut prior to starting this experiment, only because it’s been almost 6 months and my ends are starting to look straggly.  Not split, just not as nice as they could look.

I will keep updating as I get farther into this experiment!! 



Leave a Reply

