Yum

My husband and I like to do a weekly meal plan- what this usually entails is us sitting down together either Friday night or Saturday morning and whining about how hard it is to come up with dinners each week discussing the week’s food choices.  It often seems like we’re in a rut- the same old tried and true recipes make their appearances weekly, and no matter how many times I pin some new recipe I keep coming back to the ones I know off the top of my head.   Last week I was browsing a blog and stumbled upon some great looking recipes- and most of the stuff in those recipes I already had at home.  So, I pinned a couple tasty looking ones and vowed to make some changes to our boring weekly rotation.

Over the weekend I made this recipe.

Oh my goodness it was amazing.  So creamy and delicious.  I substituted whole wheat pasta for regular, some home made turkey stock that we had in the freezer (from last year’s Thanksgiving) for the chicken stock and the spicy hot ro-tel tomatoes and chiles instead of mild.  That last decision might have made it hot hot hot my mouth is on fire a little spicier than intended, which I LOVED and left my husband sweating and exclaiming long after dinner was over how hot it was (and he loves spicy food).  I swear, there’s something about this pregnancy that makes me want spicy foods- the spicier the better.  I think once the heartburn kicks in that’ll come back to bite me, but for now I’m eating all I can get.  So if you’re going to make this, use the mild tomatoes/chiles.  Seriously.  It’ll be spicy enough, I promise.  But please make this- you won’t regret it.  And the awesome part (aside from all the flavor)?  There’s only 500 calories per serving– and this easily made 4 servings- almost 6 actually.  You can bet that this one will make it into our regular dinner rotations!!

Leave a Reply

