Weekend work

You guys- I got a TON accomplished this weekend.  So I have lots to share with you!!  First off- I finally got the office whipped into shape.  This has been on my to-do list for awhile now, and I’ve been dragging my feet about it because I wasn’t quite sure how I wanted it to look.  I was also trying to use what I already had as much as possible, so I really needed to spend some time thinking about it before trying to put it together.  Plus I have a nursery to decorate which is way more fun!  But I finally tackled the office on Saturday and I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.  There’s a couple more things I need to add in there, so it’s not 100% finished, but I couldn’t wait to share.  First, a couple photos of how it used to look:

This was the view as you walked into the room from the kitchen

And this is the view as seen from the bathroom attached to this room

Blah blah and more blah- and I hated the paint color from the minute I put it on the wall.  It has always read purple instead of blue (although it photographs blue) and it just never seemed right.  Took me almost two years to paint over it, but it’s finally a different color!!

Here’s the new view as you walk into the room from the kitchen

 Ahhhhh- so much better already.  As you can see, the desk and couch got new spots (and the cat LOVES the new placement of the couch).  I got a new desk chair (it’s this one from Ikea) and put up different curtains (these ones in 95″ length from Target).  I took down the metal blinds that came with the house and am planning to put up roman shades in their place.

This is the view from the couch- the door leads to the adjoining bathroom.  The bookshelf holds my knitting stash.  The ribbons on the wall (held up by these hooks from Ikea) are all of Ellie’s ribbons that she’s won from agility trials in the last year.  Together they make up her first AKC agility title (in novice standard)- I have the certificate for it, I just need to frame it and then it’ll go above the ribbons.
The ribbons that are still on the bookshelf are for her other novice agility title- she’s got to get one more qualifying score in order to earn her novice jumper’s title and then those ribbons can go up too.

I think my favorite part of the whole room is the gallery wall- I thought long and hard about this wall and am pretty happy with how it turned out.  I already had everything on hand, which is why the frames are all mis-matched, but I think it works.  Almost everything on the wall relates to my time spent in the Bering Sea- two of the photos are of the ship I was on (USCGC Healy, the canvas on the top left is me in front of the ship on the ice), the other canvas is of a snowy owl that spent some time on our ship, the two white frames have photos of sunsets on the Bering Sea, and the two large black frames have my diplomas in them. 

A couple close ups of two of my favorite ones- this is a patch I got while on the Healy that I stuck in a frame I already had.

This guy is a sea star that we found while working in the Bering Sea- it lives in the mud and feeds on animals that also live in the mud- we pulled it off the bottom with some of our samples and then dried it out (sacrificed in the name of science, right?) It came home to live with me, and was in a plastic jar on my desk but I thought it’d be more fun to have it on the wall, so I stuck some fabric in a frame and then hot glued him to the fabric.

  
That concludes my little office tour- I hope you like it as much as I do!!  Amber approves (which is all that really matters, right??)

6 thoughts on “Weekend work

  1. it looks great! certainly an upgrade – and even better that you used stuff you already had on hand for the most part!i’m totally the same way about paint – i hate it but am too lazy to change it, for like, three years 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

