Back in action

Hello!!  I’m back!!  Thanks to all of you for hanging in there while I took an unexpected 2 month blogging hiatus- I got held up by a pretty large project we have going on behind the scenes (don’t worry, I’ll share what that is soon) and also a few trips (for work and play) that got in the way of blogging.  But I’m back now, and going to make another effort to resume blogging!

I thought I’d give y’all an update.  Since the theme of 2012 is “flooring” around here at DavenportDIY (read about it here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here and here– wow, that’s a lot of posts about floors!) I’m going to talk about…you guessed it…flooring!  ha.

The last bit of flooring we had installed was the Trafficmaster Allure in “Tradition” in the kitchen and living room.  You can see the finished results here and here.  I’m going to try and keep it real here on the blog, so I’ll tell you that we loved it…until the dogs entered the picture.  It became like an ice skating rink for them- and just like skates leave scratches in the ice, the dog nails left scratches in the floor (we keep their nails fairly short, using a dremel to shave them down every couple of weeks, so this was not caused by untrimmed dog nails).  After a month of use, the floor looked like we’d had it for 30 years instead of 30 days.  It broke my heart to see the floor look so beaten up already.  Luckily, we had some floor polish on hand, which, according to the manual that came with our flooring, is recommended for scratch removal.  I applied the polish as instructed- and with a little elbow grease, the scratches were gone!!  Hooray!!

Sadly, that’s not the end of my story, although I wish it were.  As soon as the dogs did their skating trick on the floor, the scratches were back.  Boo.  A quick Google search told me I was not the only person having these troubles with their floor.  A few people mentioned they had filed claims with the company who makes the flooring– and after a lot of foot dragging I decided to go down that road.  I gave them a call and they asked me to send them photos of the damage.  Here’s what I sent (it’s really hard to take a decent photo of a scratch, by the way):

Can you see them??  They are between 4 and 8 inches in length, depending on how far the dog slid. It’s much more noticeable in person- especially when the sun shines on the floor.  Imagine these covering all of the high traffic areas in our house- sigh.

About a week after sending the photos, we received a package in the mail.  A bottle of spray on scratch remover.  Hmmm.  Not quite the response I was hoping for, but I decided to give it a try and see if it would solve our problem.   Here’s what I got, after following the instructions to the letter:

Oh goodie- shiny scratches!!  And a REALLY slippery floor.  All of us about broke our necks on the spot I tried it on, until it finally wore off on our socks/paws.  So I sent the above photos to the company, waited a few days and then called about the claim to see where we stood.  Surprisingly, they offered us a full refund without any hassle.  I was able to go to my local Home Depot and get our money back on the boxes of flooring that we used.

It breaks my heart that we had to go this route- I did a lot of research on this floor before we purchased it and a ton of people said it held up great to dogs.  And we have a similar floor (Trafficmaster Allure in Cordoba) in our bathrooms that we LOVE and looks fabulous, with no scratches in sight.  I also am a huge fan of Home Depot, especially our local store.  We shop there all the time and it hurts me a little to get our money back from them on such a large purchase.  But we’ll definitely be shopping there again in the future.

Do we still have a scratched up floor after all of this?  Yes.  But at least now I won’t cringe every time a dog runs on it or something gets dropped on it, because we were able to get our money back on our purchase.  I hope this post gets found by other people looking for information about Trafficmaster Allure floors, because it’s helpful to know the truth about what you’re buying before you buy it.

One day down the line we’ll probably end up covering them up with something else, but for now we can live with them.  This also frees up some money to do some more flooring in the last part of the house needing new floors- so stay tuned for that post in the near-ish future. 

Thanks for reading and thanks for sticking around!!

5 thoughts on “Back in action

  1. That stinks that your flooring didn’t work out! We were worried when we put our laminate in that the dog would scratch up the floors, but we’ve had it since February with no issues. He definitely “ice skates” a little though. We used Easy Floor by Mohawk, we bought it at Home Depot too.

    Like

  2. How sad! We’re actually considering the vinyl plank flooring for our basement that we’ll be redoing soon. If you didn’t have dogs at all and knew you would never have any, would you still recommend that flooring? We don’t have kids yet, but hopefully will someday, and I’d want them to be able freely on the floor without worrying about scratching it.

    Like

    • Hi Laura!! I’d recommend that you look into the Allure Ultra planks instead of just the regular Allure. They click and lock together instead of sticking together, and they are supposed to have a thicker wear layer than the Allure. Jen at I heart Organizing (http://iheartorganizing.blogspot.com/) used it in her basement and she has a dog and kids- it appears to be holding up great for her. I’d say we might have better luck with ours if we didn’t have dogs, but I’d be paranoid about kids scratching it with toys/shoes/etc. Good luck!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

