New flooring!

Look!  Another post!  See, I’m trying!

2012 is going to be the flooring year for us, I can already tell.  Up to this point, we’ve only touched the flooring in the downstairs bathroom, and that was out of necessity- a rotten subfloor meant the linoleum had to come up.  Ooof.  That was an eye-opener, 4 months into home ownership and we’re tearing out floors!!  But we survived, and the floor looks great.  Here’s a reminder of that process (and you can read more about it here):

Allure Trafficmaster vinyl plank flooring in “Cordoba“, mid bathroom re-do

 We’ve been holding onto an almost full box of this flooring for about a year and half, and I’ve been DYING to do the upstairs bathroom floor.  There’s absolutely nothing wrong with that floor (thank goodness!) aside from looking a little dated- but hey, we had some of the flooring already!  So I begged asked my husband nicely to help me install the flooring- I even said it could wait until after football was over- and he said sure.  He even got the DIY bug and we installed it over the weekend! 

Here’s a look at the bathroom when we bought the house:

And here’s what it looked like before the weekend:

Looks good- but it just needed that extra ooohmf from new flooring!

We choose the Allure Trafficmaster flooring (from Home Depot**) because of price and ease of install.  It’s around $50 per box, which covers about 25 square feet.  Three boxes was plenty to do the upstairs bathroom, with room for mistakes, and we only used a little over 2 boxes in the downstairs bathroom, so it’s a pretty inexpensive adventure.  It’s also waterproof, has a 25yr warranty and is scratch resistant- love all of that.

This flooring is installed as a floating floor, over the existing flooring or subfloor, with 3 tiles “combined” together in a plank (with fake grout in-between the tiles).  The planks get stuck together with overlapping sticky strips- it’s hard to describe but they stick together very well (although if you make a mistake you’re stuck- literally).  It’s kind of like click and lock flooring, but click and stick instead.  The best part is, it’s vinyl and you can cut it with a box cutter!  No saws involved- just score and snap.  Well, score several times and then snap- it’s not quite as simple as they make it sound, but it’s certainly easier than using a saw, that’s for sure.

Here’s an up-close photo of the “tiles” so you can get a better idea of the sticky strips:

The tiles are nice and thick (0.15 inches)- not flimsy at all- and each strip of tiles weighs almost 5 pounds- it’s pretty heavy duty.

Here’s a mid-install picture:

Why yes, yes we did use a rolling pin in this process- that’s to seal the seams after you stick the tiles together.  You can also rent a 100lb floor roller to press the seams, but the company actually recommends walking on it- the more you walk on it, the better the seal.  I wouldn’t walk on it until you get it all stuck together, since it is a floating floor.  Walking on it mid-process can make the whole thing slide around a little and throw your alignment off, which is key, especially around doorways.

Flooring a bathroom can be tricky-  you barely get one run of tiles laid out before you encounter a doorway or something you have to cut around, which can be a bit of a brain puzzle.  For that reason it took us about 8 hours from start to finish to get this done.  I’d imagine if we were doing a living room that was basically a rectangle, things would go a lot faster.  That’s what I’m trying to convince my husband anyway- Trafficmaster makes a wood version of this, and I want to install it in our living room/dining room/kitchen!  Which will be a lot of work, I know!  But I still think we can do it ourselves.

Ok, I know you’re dying for the finished product, so I won’t disappoint!

 
I LOVE it.  Love.  I can’t believe we waited so long to do it.

Just for fun- another photo, with the room all put back together:

Oooooooooh.  Ahhhhhhh. 

What do you think?

**Disclosure:  I was not paid or compensated by this company for my opinion- we just shop there A LOT, and have had good experiences with our local store

6 thoughts on “New flooring!

  1. WOW! I have been trying for MONTHS to figure out which allure flooring will go with my paint color of choice for my bathroom remodel and your photos just made my decision for me. Thank goodness because it’s only 2 weeks away!! The color of gray on the left wall in the first photo is almost exact to the color I chose and the Cordoba flooring goes GREAT with it! (both rooms look wonderful, by the way:) I have a baziliion samples and have looked at picture after picture and now I finally can move ahead and get my flooring. Thanks for the inspiration!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

