Thankful

This past week my parents were visiting us, which explains why I’ve been MIA.  It was a great visit, though not long enough (of course!)  We were able to celebrate an early Thanksgiving and Christmas with them (there was even a tiny tree!).  One of our Thanksgiving traditions is to go around the table and say what we’re thankful for.  This year was that tradition was especially poignant, as the day before our Thanksgiving dinner, my husband had to have an emergency appendectomy (this was his first hospital stay ever).  The surgery was quick and successful and he’s recovering well at home now.  But it made me reflect on what I’m thankful for, so I thought I’d list it here:

  • Support from family and friends- we’ve had a trying year in 2011, and the support from our family and friends has been amazing.  
  • Our health- a couple of emergencies this year has made me grateful that we’re both in good health, because things could have been a lot worse if we hadn’t been.  Good health makes for a speedy recovery.
  • Good timing- while emergencies are never scheduled (nor convenient), they could have happened at a different time- what if my husband had to have surgery while we were all the way across the country in Washington?  What if my parents hadn’t been here to help out while I was at the hospital with my husband?
  • Good food- this really has nothing to do with anything else except that this time of year there’s always delicious food being cooked, and we were lucky to have my dad make some fabulous meals for us while they were visiting.  They left us stocked up with food/leftovers for the next month!!

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

