Spooky, scary…

Happy Halloween!!!

Today’s blog title has absolutely nothing to do with my post, except that it’s Halloween.  And it makes me think of this song from 30 Rock.  Go watch- I’ll wait.

This weekend we got hit by some chilly fall temperatures (finally!!!), which always puts me in the mood for cooking a big hearty meal.  So I made my go-to Sunday dinner- pork roast.  My husband repeatedly asks for this dinner, and I make it several times a year (even when the temps are NOT chilly).  I love it because the pork will make an entire week’s worth of dinners, but I don’t make the same thing every night.  Here’s the dinner line up for the week:

Sunday:  Pork with roasted veggies
Monday:  Leftovers
Tuesday:  Cubed pork with mushrooms and gravy over rice (hands down husband’s favorite meal- he would eat this every day if he could)
Wednesday:  Leftovers
Thursday:  Pulled pork sandwiches (simmer pork in crock pot with bbq sauce and shred) and sweet potato fries (using home grown sweet potatoes!!)
Friday:  Leftovers

Yesterday I cooked my pork.  I love doing this on a Sunday- there’s nothing better than a lazy Sunday with football on and the smell of pork cooking in the oven.  Seriously.  My dad gave me the following recipe for the pork and I do it the same way every time:

1 pork shoulder (I usually get 7-8lbs which feeds us for a week)
Olive oil
Salt
Pepper
Dijon mustard

Preheat the oven to 250.  Wash your pork shoulder and place in a large pan on a rack (or directly in the pan, depending on whether you have a rack or not).  Drizzle with olive oil (2-3 tablespoons?) and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Then slather with dijon- don’t hold back here!  I use almost a whole jar of dijon.  It should look something like this:

Cover your roast with foil and bake at 250 for 1 hour.  After an hour, bump your temperature to 270 and bake until the roast is at 165 degrees or greater.  It usually takes mine an additional 4.5 hours to reach this temperature, so around 5.5 hours of total cooking time.  Out of the oven it should look like this:

Yum.  That dijon forms a beautiful crust on the outside of the pork and adds a nice flavor (not overwhelming).  Once my pork finished cooking, I threw some veggies in the oven to roast.  My dad has the ability to roast veggies in the same pan as the pork, but every time I try to do that, they end up dry.  So I cook mine separately.  I did carrots, red potatoes and some small sweet potatoes from the garden, tossed with a little olive oil and salt and pepper:

 They turned out great, including the sweet potatoes.  I also made this brussels sprouts recipe, which was just OK.  My husband ate the brussels sprouts which is kind of a big deal (he does NOT like vegetables), so it must have been decent, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the roasted apple (which smelled SO good but just tasted mushy) and the balsamic vinegar.  All in all it was a decent Sunday feast.  Of course I have no after photos- we were too hungry to pause for picture taking after smelling that pork all day!!  I’m looking forward to leftovers tonight!!

I hope everyone has a safe, fun filled Halloween.  We haven’t done anything Halloween related this year- we didn’t even buy/carve pumpkins!!  I guess we just weren’t in the spirit this year. Oh well, there’s always next year.  I’m kind of hoping I can score a couple of pumpkins after today for cheap, to put on the porch as a fall decoration.

Leave a Reply

