Changin’ it up

I am the WORST blogger ever- almost 1 year (!!) between posts.  I don’t know if I’m cut out for this blogging thing or not, but I’m going to give it a try…again.  Got a little push this morning from Kim at NewlyWoodwards who linked my blog on her post this morning (eek)

So we’ve changed a few things since the last time I blogged…here’s the latest.  First- the coffee table that was my 2nd blog post EVER…had to go.  Insert giant sad face here.  It just wasn’t working for the space- it was GIANT.  And blocked the view of the fireplace.  And threatened to give me a hernia every time I needed to move it to vacuum.  It did serve as a good hider of dog toys and blankets, but after living with it for over a year, in various arrangements, I’d had enough.  See these pictures as evidence of the monstrous beast:

The coffee table shortly after we moved in and set up the living room

The most current state of the coffee table

 So I was on the hunt for a new coffee table.  Enter Craigslist.  I was hoping for something round, with glass.  Something not so giant and heavy and fireplace-blocking.  After a few days of browsing, I found one I liked! It was being sold by a college student for $20.  My husband and I went to pick it up- and it was rough.  The good: round-ish shape. solid wood. glass top.  The bad: wood was scratched.  finish wasn’t great.  The ugly: the glass was scratched.  the bottom was wicker and coming off.  there may have been dog fur involved.  My husband was NOT thrilled, to say the least (I *might* have made him go get it after work.  With my bike in the back of the truck.  And I *might* have neglected to tell him there was a glass top involved.  Whoopsies.)  Now, here’s where the bad blogger comes in to play- I have NO before/during pics.  None.  Zip, zero, nada.  Shame on me.  But here’s what I did, since obvs this little table couldn’t live in our living room in its current condition:

1. Clean off dust and hair, remove wicker bottom
2. Clean glass top and frost- I had to cover up the scratches somehow, so frosting came to mind.  I frosted both sides with a spray can of window frosting, then spray poly’d the side that would be facing up. 
3. Sand, sand, sand and sand the wood (I highly recommend an electric sander for this part.  I used a Black n’ Decker mouse with 80 grit sandpaper, then 200 grit for the final sanding).  Sanding revealed some beautiful wood grain- yay!!
4. Stain.  I used a stain with polyurethane built in- Minwax Polyshades.  This is pretty simple to use- wipe on, allow to dry (I did this in 90+ degree temps with 90+% humidity- so I gave it 24 hours or more between coats).  Sand in between coats with 000 steel wool (found in the sandpaper aisle at the hardware store).  When I say sand I mean lightly rub- just enough to scuff up the finish.  Then rinse and repeat steps- I did this 3 times. 

Want to see the final product?  Excuse the terrible cell phone pics (bad blogger, bad!).  My husband’s opinion (who was a skeptic the ENTIRE process, but really, who can blame him?):  He loves it!  Yay!!

Ta-da!  I love it- it makes the living room feel SO much more open. 

And a close up to see the frosted top and newly stained wood.  *Note: After using the top for a few weeks, the frosting has stayed put.  However, I’ve touched the underside a couple of times and that has not held up as well.  My plan is to remove the glass, touch up the frosted underside and poly that side as well*

 Does this coffee table look familiar to anyone?  Yep, Katie Bower at BowerPower has a very similar one– in fact, when I saw ours on Craigslist I knew I had to have it, I’d loved the look of hers!  I didn’t get quite the deal that she did, but I still think I got a good deal.  Total spent: $34.  $20 for the table.  $10 for the sand paper.  $4 for the frosting spray.  We already had the stain (which was one of those teeny tester cans- these last forever. I swear I have enough for another table) and the poly.  Plus I was able to re-sell the monstrous coffee table for what we paid for it ($150).  All in all, not too shabby.

Fingers crossed I can stick with this blogging thing- I have a lot more things to share!!

Leave a Reply

